Tesseris Martyres (Four Martyrs) (Rethymno)
This church is dedicated to the local New Martyrs Aggelis, Manouil, Georgios and Nikolaos, who were martyred in 1824 and recognised by local society as protectors of the city. Two other churches pre-existed at the site of the present-day church, but were demolished.
The present-day church was constructed in 1975 in the three-aisled arch-covered style, with unique icons by Fotis Kontoglou painted on its chancel screen. The remains of three of the four martyrs are kept in a reliquary, while the chapel of Ossios Savvas Igiasmenos can be found in the church basement.