Saint George & Saint Constantine at Pyrgos
The nave and the south aisle, dedicated to St. George and St. Constantine respectively, are the only remains of the original three-aisled church today. The present, north, aisle of St. George has mural painting of the end of the 13th century, characteristic of the antiquated art of the period in which six scenes from the life and martyrdom of the honoured saint stand out. The aisle of St. Constantine, according to the two dedicatory inscriptions, was founded in 1314/15 by George Pachnoutis, and, as has been observed, was created by two painters. The iconographic programme of the church diverges from the established, since in the sanctuary there are four Gospel scenes instead of the Ascenscion and Pentecost as well as four scenes from the life of Constantine the Great: the birth of Constantine the Great, his transfer to the court of Diocletian as a baby, the Blessing of Christ on St. Constantine and St. Helen and a representation which is a medley of the battle on the Mulvian bridge and the entry of Constantine the Great into Rome. It has been argued that these unique scenes, the only ones known in monumental painting from the life of Constantine the Great follow a western medieval illuminated manuscript as their model.