Kyria ton Aggelon (Lady of the Angels) (Rethymno)

The church of the ‘Lady of the Angels’ is also known as ‘Mikri Panagia’ (‘Little Virgin Mary’), in contrast to the ‘Megali Panagia’ (‘Large Virgin Mary’), i.e. the metropolitan church. It was built in the late years of the era of Venetian rule and was dedicated to Mary Magdalene.


Eisodia Theotokou (Presentation of the Virgin Mary) (Rethymno)

The metropolitan church of Rethymno is dedicated to the Presentation of the Virgin Mary. The church was erected over three periods. During the era of Venetian rule, there was a small church at this site; in 1844, it was demolished and a larger one was erected at its location. Its present-day form is a three-aisled […]


Profitis Ilias (Prophet Elijah) Monastery

Profitis Ilias Monastery is located on rocky, elevated terrain near the village Roustika. The monastery was built during the era of Venetian rule and belongs to the citadel style of architecture, with its catholicon being a three-aisled domed basilica dedicated to the Prophet Eli, the Holy Trinity and the Holy Cincture. The catholicon contains a […]


Arkadi Monastery

Arkadi Monatery is perhaps the best known monastery on Crete due to the Holocaust of 1866. However, its location and impressive architecture make it all the more special. It is a large fortified complex built during the end of the period of Venetian rule. Apart from the monks’ cells, the central building also includes warehouses, […]


Metamorphosis tou Sotiros (Transfiguration of the Redeemer) Church (Myrthios)

This is a truly old church, built before 961. The bell tower was erected much later, in 1589, during Venetian rule. The mural paintings that stand out are the scenes of Hell and the icon of St. Charalampus.


Panagias Thymianis (Mother Mary of the thyme) Monastery (Komitades)

According to tradition the name of the monastery comes from an icon of Mother Mary found under a thyme bush and has been a sacred site for the residents of Sfakia. The catholicon (main church) of the monastery is a two-aisled church dedicated to the Nativity of Mother Mary (Gennisis tis Theotokou) and the Holy […]


Preveli Monastery

The famous monastery of Prevelis, overlooking the Libyan Sea, is composed off two building complexes, the ‘Back’ (Piso) and the ‘Low’ (Kato) Monastery, with a distance of 2 kilometres between them. There are numerous legends associated with the establishment of the monastery, dating back to the Venetian rule period, like most Cretan monasteries. At that […]


Prodromou (St. John the Baptist) Monastery at Korakies

The Monastery of St. John the Baptist at Korakies has existed since the period of Venetian and used to be a convent. The Catholicon, which is being restored, has two aisles and stands in the centre of the long monastery cloisters. The Church has been extended many times with changes that adulterated its original style. […]


Agia Triada (Holy Trinity) Monastery

This is situated at Akrotiri, a location planted with olive groves, vineyards and cypress trees. Architecturally it is one of the most important examples of the Cretan Renaissance. According to tradition it was funded by brothers Jeremiah and Lorenzo of the old Venetian family of the Zagaroloi, who were monks in the nearby monastery of […]


Holy Metropolis of Ierapetra and Siteia

The present Metropolis of Ierapetra and Siteia with its seat in the city of Ierapetra occupies the southern and eastern part of the county of Lasithi and includes the former provinces of Iera­petra and Siteia as well as the communities of Kalo Chorio of Merambellou and Kato (Lower) Symi of Viannos. The Metropolis originated from […]