The Early Christian Monuments of Agios Titos at Gortyna

The city of Gortyna, the capital of the Roman province of Cyrenaica (Africa) and seat of the governor of Crete from the 4th century AD was subject to the eastern Roman state and was a thriving city and seat of the archdiocese during the early Byzantine period. Indicative of its prosperity, during the early Christian […]


Ten Saints at Agioi Deka

In the centre of the settlement of Agioi Deka is a large three-aisled basilica with a narthex and two domed outbuildings to the east, dedicated to the homonymous saints. The church, which has multiple construction phases, was erected inside the Roman amphitheatre of ancient Gortyna where the saints were martyred in AD 250 during the […]


Holy Monastery of Apezana

The monastery of Apezana is located on the west side of the sierra of Asterousia and north of Kaloi Limenes (Fair Havens) in an area with a significant monastic tradition. The earliest known mention of the monastery is dated to the middle of the 16th century, even though it is likely that the existence of […]


Agia Irini Kroussona (St. Irene of Kroussonas) Monastery

The monastery, located south of Kroussonas, on the foothills of Psiloritis, was one of the richest monasteries during the first years of the era of Ottoman rule. It is cited in 16th century texts. In 1822, the monks were put to death, the monastery was destroyed and its property was given to Kera Monastery. The […]


Paliani Convent

This is one of the oldest convents on Crete, situated south of Venerato village and built on top of the ruins of an ancient temple, as confirmed by the capitals located in the courtyard of the convent. The convent is dedicated to the Dormition of Mother Mary and has been in operation since the first […]


Church of Genessio tis Theotokou (Nativity of Mary), Timios Prodromos (St. John the Baptist) and Agios Georgios (St. George) (Epano Episkopi)

A large, three-aisled dome-roofed basilica, this church was likely built on the site of an Early Christian basilica. The nave is dedicated to the Nativity of Mary, and the aisles are dedicated to Saint John the Baptist and Saint George.


Saint John the Theologian at Mesa Mouliana

The original three-aisled church, dedicated to St. John, the All-Holy Virgin and the Holy Trinity is the result of three successive interpolations to a single-nave, domed church of the middle Byzantine period. The church was expanded in the period of Venetian occupation with the addition of the south aisle, dedicated today to St. Charalambos. The […]


Church of Agios Konstantinos & Agia Eleni (St. Constantine & St. Helen) (Agios Konstantinos)

A two-aisled basilica built in 1315 and dedicated to Saint Constantine and Saint Helen, featuring Byzantine icons dating back to 1730-1770. The stone belfry dates back to 1863.


Agios Ioannis (St. John) (Episkopi)

The Byzantine basilica of Saint John in Episkopi was likely built on the ruins of an Early Christian Basilica. It is a wooden-roofed, three-aisled basilica that was built in the domed cruciform style after being destroyed in 1303. The surviving murals date back to the 14th century.


Early Christian Basilica (Panormo)

This is the largest Early Christian Basilica on Crete and is dedicated to Agia Sophia (Holy Wisdom). Architecturally speaking, it is a wooden-roofed basilica with a T-shaped transept, a total length of 54 metres and a total width of 23 metres. The basilica dates back to the 5th century and seems to have been in […]