Agios Minas (St. Menas) (Episkopi)

St. Menas is the patron saint of the Diocese of Heraklion. It is a two-aisled church erected in 1882, with its northern aisle dedicated to the Dormition of Mother Mary and its southern aisle to St. Menas. One of the most noteworthy elements of the church is its marble chancel screen.


Holy Metropolis of Kydonia and Apokoronos

The Metropolis comprises the provinces of Kydonia and Apokoronos, in the Prefecture of Chania and its See is in Chania. Kydonia was one of the oldest and most important cities on Crete. Its diocese, like most on the island, was funded by St. Titus. It was founded even before 381 AD, since Bishop Kydoios attended […]


Agios Ioannis (St. John) (Episkopi)

The Byzantine basilica of Saint John in Episkopi was likely built on the ruins of an Early Christian Basilica. It is a wooden-roofed, three-aisled basilica that was built in the domed cruciform style after being destroyed in 1303. The surviving murals date back to the 14th century.


Koimisi tis Theotokou (Dormition of Mother Mary) (Agia)

The church of the Dormition (Koimisis tis Theotokou) seen today was built on the ruins of the early Christian Basilica of the 5th century. During the 10th or 11th century it was rebuilt and became the Diocese of Kydonia and Apokoronos.


Church of Agios Georgios and Agios Haralampos (St. George & St. Charalampus) (Episkopi)

The church of Saint George and Saint Charalampus is one of the most important religious monuments in the region of Ierapetra. The 11th century Byzantine bathhouse that originally stood on the site was converted into a church, possibly during the 16th century. Byzantine bathhouses and churches shared many architectural elements, and, as a result, abandoned […]